Awami League Nominates Gazi Amzad Hossain for By-poll in Sirajganj-3


Bangladesh Awami League has nominated its national committee member and Freedom Fighter Gazi Amjad Hossain as the party candidate to contest the by-poll in Sirajganj-3 (Raiganj-Tarash) constituency slated for December 30.

The nomination was finalized at a meeting of the Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) held at Ganobhaban, the official residence of the Prime Minister, this evening.

ALPB Chief and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting.

Briefing reporters after the meeting, Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader said the ALPB unanimously picked Gazi Amzad Hossain for the by-election in Sirajganj-3 constituency.

He said 19 aspirant candidates including three women appeared before the board to give interview for the nomination.

"But the board picked Gazi Amzad Hossain as the candidate considering his sacrifice and dedication to the party," Quader said.

ALPB members Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Syed Ashraful Islam, Suranjit Sengupta and Dr Alauddin Ahmed attended the meeting, among others.

The by-poll to Sirajganj -3 constituency that fell vacant following the death of Awami League lawmaker Ishaq Hossain Talukdar will be held on December 30, according to a decision of the Election Commission (EC).

According to the schedule, the deadline for the submission of nomination papers is November 20, while the date for scrutinising the nomination papers is November 22 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 30.

Sirajganj-3 (parliamentary constituency No. 64) has a total of 3,31,336 voters--1,64,539 men and 1,66,797 women--and they will be able to exercise their franchise through 131 possible polling stations in the by-poll.

The constituency is comprised of one municipality (Raiganj) and 17 union parishads - nine union parishads of Raiganj upazila and eight union parishads of Tarash upazila.

The EC's Rajshahi regional officer was appointed the returning officer for the by-election, while Sirajganj district election officials and Tarash upazila election officer will act as assistant returning officers.

As per article 123 (4) of the Constitution, the commission has a legal obligation to hold the by-election by January 4, 2015.

Ishaq Hossain Talukdar, MP, died of old-age complications at the age of 68 on October 6 this year.

-Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)