Awami League nominates Hasan Imam for Tangail-4 by-poll


Bangladesh Awami League nominated Md Hasan Imam Khan (Sohel Hazari), former upazila chairman of Kalihati, to contest the Tangail-4 (Kalihati) by-poll slated for November 10.

"The Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) at a meeting held at Ganobhaban tonight picked him as the party candidate among 19 nomination-seekers," PM's Deputy Press Secretary Ashraful Alam Khokan said.

ALPB President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting.

As per the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the last day for submission of nomination paper is October 11 and the scrutiny will take place on October 13, while October 21 is the last day for the withdrawal of candidature.

The constituency comprising Kalihati upazila fell vacant as expelled Awami League leader Abdul Latif Siddiqui resigned from parliament on September 1.

The total number of voters in the constituency is 2,77,847. Of them, 1,36,374 are males and 1,41,473 females.