Nasim made Mujibnagar day udjapan committee chairman



Awami League (AL) presidium member and Health and Family Welfare Minister Mohammad Nasim has been elected as chairman of Mujibnagar Dibas Udjapan Committee.

He was elected the chairman at a meeting of AL Central Executive Body at Gonobhaban on Saturday night with Prime minister and AL president Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

The historic Mujibnagar Day is on April 17. On this day in 1971, Bangladesh's first government in exile was formed at the Baidyanathtola mango grove in the then Meherpur subdivision,

The place was later renamed Mujibnagar in tribute to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman who had been declared the president of the government-in-exile.

Syed Nazrul Islam was appointed as the acting president in absence of Bangabandhu.

Tajuddin Ahmad was appointed as the first prime minister while Khandaker Moshtaq Ahmed, Capt M Mansur Ali and AHM Quamruzzaman were made cabinet members.

Meanwhile, another meeting will be held at AL president's political office at Dhanmondi marking the day on April 9 at 11am, an AL press release said today.

AL central executive body members, all districts unit president and general secretary of AL under Khulna division, AL lawmakers are requested to be present in the meeting.