Nomination forms for Tangail-4 (Kalihati) to be distributed on Oct 1-2


Bangladesh Awami League has decided to distribute nomination forms for the upcoming by-elections to Tangail-4 (Kalihati) constituency on October 1-2.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the the Awami League Parliamentary Board (ALPB) with its President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

After the meeting held at Ganobhaban, AL Office Secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap briefed reporters. He said the aspirant candidates could collect nomination forms from Dhanmondi Office of the party President on October 1 and 2 from 11 am to 5 pm by paying Taka 25,000.

Dr Golap said the candidates will have to submit the nomination forms at the same office by 5 pm on October 3.

He said the ALPB will take interview of the nomination seekers at Ganobhaban in the evening of October 6.

As per the schedule announced by the Election Commission, the polling of the by-elections to Tangail-4 constituency will take place on November 10. The last day for submission of nomination paper is October 11 and the scrutiny will take place on October 13, while October 21 is the last day for the withdrawal of candidature.

The constituency fell vacant as expelled Awami League leader Latif Siddiqui resigned from parliament on September 1.

The total number of voters in the constituency is 2,77,847. Of them, 1,36,374 males and 1,41,473 females.